top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetriana krisandini

Teaching Practice

Updated: Feb 22, 2019

1.Procedures of your teaching


interested and nervous when I wanted to teach 7th grade. the thing I prepared was to make a DLL (daily lesson log) and prepare the PPT for teaching, of course under the supervision of my cooperating teacher, Sir Villar. when students enter the classroom they will get blessings from the teacher, this is also known as 'salaman' in Indonesia. Then greeting students when they are in their seats, checking the presence of each student by calling their name one by one (they have a good name, and sometimes I said the wrong prononciation, sorry to my dear students hehe).next, i asked how they are. after that start by remembering the previous material, and start the material with motivation for students. Since i only has 60 minutes, so after about 7 minutes of opening I immediately start to discuss the next material with 7E (Elicit, Engage, Explore, Explain, Elaborate, Evaluate, Extend), and give opportunity to students who want to ask. at the end of the lesson I gave a question for them to answer, this is so that I know how far they understand the material that I have explained.


2.Time management and organizing activities

Im trying to divided my 60 minutes into 7 minutes for opening, 40 miutes for content, 10 minutes for evaluation, 3 minutes for closing . although sometimes was run not the same as what I had planned.


3.Problem-solving

a.time management- I made the DLL well and adequately as possible, did not give the material excessively (out of topic) so that the time I had would be enough.

b. talking too fast and seem in a hurry- I practice to speak slowly and clearly as possible.

c. different English pronunciation between Indonesia and the Philippines -learn and understand slowly about the pronunciation of English in general which is true and good.


4.Classroom management

My practicum class was 7 grade, consists of 34 pupils 16 boys and 18 girls. I was teaching them science in physiscs unit , it is a challange for me since im in chemistry education , but i can pass it too with help from sir Villar. Before we strat demo teaching , Sir Villar taught us about Whole brain teaching approach . its quite new for me , and as a new thing to learn my nueron start stimulating well. whole brain teachin is apporoach on handling the students, help them to be diciplines under Class rom rules and group rules (the rules are made with student’s and teacher’s consent) , and students must be fair with the rule. Whole brain teaching also makes students activly use their immagination and cinestetic on rememberance the knowledge. So , i tried to use whole brain teaching step by step. Its fun and made us happy while teaching. All students in 7 grade are doing well when i have our demo teaching, and their curiosity about indonesia and me are as additional point to deal with them when im teaching. I believe when i apply whole brain teaching in indonesia , students will more cooperative with their classmates even their teachers.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page